Where it All Began

Daily Image - 18 March 2012 - Where it All Began

This is the three hundred and sixty-sixth and last image in this project. (it was a leap-year) It’s hard to believe that a full year has gone by and that I was able to reach my goal. There were times when I had so many good images that it was hard to choose. At other times, after weeks of steady rain or bitter cold, I really had to reach deep to get my sorry ass out there and shoot. As a matter of fact there’s at least one image, I won’t tell you which one, that literally consisted of me running out of the house, into my wife’s garden, snapping off three frames and hustling back before my fingers froze on the camera; three minutes in total!

Not all the images in the project will go down in history as classics of photography, but that was not the point. Although I brought you all along for the ride, the real purpose of this project was simply practical and selfish. It was to make me a better, more self-aware, more complete photographer. And I believe this goal was achieved.

I thank you all for your support and encouragement. Your kind words really helped get the job done.

So… what’s next? Well, if I just continued on this path I’d probably be faced with a divorce. My wife understands my obsession and appreciates my effort, but she’s heard: “I can’t, I have to go and shoot a picture for the blog.” one too many times. The other thing I’ve learned is that I like writing, and many of you have been gracious enough to say how much the text adds to the image, so… I am going to convert the project into a blog, publish less often, but incorporate more images and text. The theme that has emerged over the year is one primarily of nature and landscape work in and around Southwest Nova Scotia. This will continue. So I hope you join me on this new adventure. Let me know what you think, and don’t be afraid to give me a kick in the rear if you think I need a little prodding.

Today’s image, the last, is at the same tree where I started, on the nineteenth of March 2011. I risked camera and lens to shoot a self-portrait, so you can see for yourselves the kind of kook you’ve been dealing with.

Thanks so much for coming along for the ride… talk to you soon.

Konica-Minolta Maxxum 7D – Tamron 90mm F2.8 Macro – ISO 100 – f18 – 1/125.

 For a slideshow of all 366 images please go to my photography webpage:

http://www.gerrycurry.com/galleries-2/complete-daily-image-project/

About gerrycurry

Gerry Curry was educated at Toronto’s Humber College of Applied Arts and Technology, where he received a diploma in Fine Arts - Photography. Gerry is a certified Apple Computer Systems Engineer by profession and as an independent consultant has worked with the graphic arts and pre-press industry, both in south-western Ontario and Nova Scotia, Canada, for over 26 years. He has been at the forefront of digital imaging from its inception. Gerry teaches primary computer systems maintenance, advanced colour calibration and colour management courses for graphic design, digital fine art and photography students as well as professionals. For several years, in the 80's he was an annual guest lecturer on user-based computer maintenance at the Rochester Institute of Technology - College of Imaging Arts and Sciences. Gerry now lives on the southwestern tip of Nova Scotia, close to Yarmouth, where he shares 30 acres close to the sea with his wife Nancy and their English and Welsh Springer Spaniels. Gerry enjoys tinkering with computers, working his dogs, flyfishing, writing and of course, photography.
This entry was posted in Garden, People, Portrait, Spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where it All Began

  1. Virginia Smith says:

    Persistent to the end. Interesting project Gerry and in a way, brave endeavor. Well done.
    I agree, it is important to have the next goal in view . Ginny

  2. laz says:

    great journey.thanks for letting us be part of it all…

  3. Sandi Gargano says:

    Every picture was so great, like I said before I’ll really miss all your pictures of Nova Scotia. You never know what the future holds, maybe a book…

  4. Gregory Jamieson says:

    I’m going to miss the daily pictures, it helped me keep in my own photographic loop.

    Thanks and keep in touch.

    Greg

Leave a Reply

